Faith Advising

Student advising and support is offered by all the members of the Multi-Faith Resource Team.  If you are looking to enrich your spiritual life or are seeking pastoral care of any kind, we are here to listen, encourage and support you.  The Multi-Faith Resource Team works collaboartively, and within their own traditions, to explore questions of meaning, purpose, belonging and identity. 

As a diverse team, we all affirm the dignity  and worth of every individual, regardless of ethnicity, religion, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression and identity. Together, we work to create positive spaces where all are afforded equal opportunity to thrive.  

Particular faith communities have the desire and capacity to serve as strong allies and create safe(r) faith spaces for the LGBTQ2IA+ community.  We welcome and encourage the participation and leadership of LGBTQ2IA+ individuals and hope to act as a support and link to local resources.  For more information about LGBTQ2IA+ affirming faith resources, contact Andrew Hyde at hydea@uoguelph.ca or 519-824-4120, ext. 52390.  

The main location of the MFRT is Raithby House and here’s how to contact us:

Buddhist

University of Guelph Meditation Community
Sandra Auld
sauld@uoguelph.ca

Christian

Catholic

Newman Centre Guelph
Fr. Mark Morley
Raithby House 202
mmorley@uoguelph.ca

Ania Krysciak
Raithby House 202
krysciak@uoguelph.ca

Protestant

Ecumenical Campus Ministry
Andrew Hyde
Raithby House 205
519-824-4120, ext. 52390
hydea@uoguelph.ca

Guelph Campus Ministry
James VanderBerg
Raithby House 203
519-824-4120, ext. 52392
519-362-9886 (Cell)
javander@uoguelph.ca

The Evangelical Fellowship
Matt Naismith 
226-780-1236
mnaismit@uoguelph.ca

Hindu

Hindu Society of Guelph
Praveen Saxena
psaxena@uoguelph.ca  

Sangeeta Saxena
sangeeta@uoguelph.ca

Jewish

Chabad of Guelph
Rabbi Raphi Steiner
Raithby House 201
519-824-4120, ext. 54366
rabbi@uoguelph.ca

Guelph Hillel
Gila Cotler
Raithby House 204
519-824-4120, ext. 56061
gcotler@uoguelph.ca

Muslim

Muslim Community on Campus
Kamela Salimi
 ksalimi@uoguelph.ca

Spiritual but not Religious

Spiritual but not Religious Guelph
Keith Martin
Raithby House 202
519-372-4642 (Cell)
martinke@uoguelph.ca

Can't Find What You Are Looking For?

This list of resources is not exhaustive and we know we haven't mentioned all faith communities.  If you're looking for something specific, we would love to hear from you and we'll do our best to connect you with the resources that you are looking for.  Please be sure to email us at faith@uoguelph.ca.